top of page

Chicken Milanese (aka Lemon Chicken)

Updated: Sep 7, 2020

After college, my brother and I moved to New Jersey with my parents. We found a local Italian restaurant in Robbinsville Township called Villa Barone. I ordered Chicken Milanese, which was fried chicken cutlets in a creamy lemon sauce, and it was absolutely wonderful. It opened my eyes to a whole new region of Italy - I never had Italian food like this before, but it became my new favorite dish. I've tried other dishes at this restaurant, but this one was definitely my favorite.


I haven't been to that restaurant since my wife and I got married in 2005. We are constantly looking for new things to try with our kids, and I remembered this dish from this restaurant, and so after many attempts, I figured out how to make it. We've tried other recipes like Chicken Picatta, but its just not the same. My son has a very strange love for lemons - he will take an entire lemon and eat it almost like a piece of fruit. So I figured he would love this recipe, and honestly I think its now my son's favorite chicken dish. My daughter isn't big into sauces, but she loves this chicken, too (after all, who doesn't love fried chicken).


This recipe gave me an opportunity to teach my kids different cooking techniques, including how to pan-fry and how to make a sauce. We don't fry foods often, but this is definitely an exception.

Video Tutorial (Season 1, Episode 7)

Our kids had a blast making this dish. My son was super excited about using a mallet, and my daughter loves this chicken so much she just kept asking the entire time when she could taste it. If you watch closely, you'll see Andy eating every last bite of every lemon we used for the sauce. Boy, does he love his lemons!



Recipe

Tips, Tricks, and Essentials

For tips and tricks cooking with children, read our post here: https://www.ardolinoskitchen.com/the-kitchen-table/tips-tricks/cooking-with-children

Looking for kitchen equipment? Like what you see in our videos? Check out our recommendations for your kitchen: https://www.ardolinoskitchen.com/kitchen-essentials

58 views0 comments
bottom of page